Five Pillars of Islam

Five pillars of Islam are the five tenets or the foundation of the Islamic faith which every Muslim is expected to follow and complete them.

  • The first pillar in Islam is the declaration of the Shahadah or statement of the faith as
  • The second pillar of Islam is the practical five times daily Prayer.
  • Fasting in the Month of Ramadan is the third pillar of the Muslim’s beliefs.
  • Charity, is an annual paying off “welfare money” among the poor which is (often done by the end of Ramadan) as the fourth pillar of the Islamic faith.
  • The last pillar is the Hajj or pilgrimage to Mecca in Saudi Arabia once in a life time for those who can afford the cost of the travel.

When embracing Islam, the convert declares the statement of faith Shahadah as the first part of the five pillars of Islam by repeating in Arabic as “Ash hadu an la illah illallah, wa ash hadu anna Muhammad ann rasoull Allah” Which translates as “I bear witness to no other deity but Allah and Muhammad is a prophet of Allah” This completes the statement of faith in Islam and the person becomes a Muslim. The second pillar is the five times prayer which is an obligation on every Muslim to fulfill it as a daily basis in a right manner and time. Fasting is the third tenant of Islam and an obligatory daily fasting for a month which occurs in the ninth month of the Islamic lunar calendar.

Charity or Zakah comes as the fourth pillar of Islam and an obligation on Muslims to take care of the poor and not to be indifferent about them. To the Quranic word Zakah or Zakat in Dari language and the meaning it conveys, there is no equivalent in any other language as far as we know. It is not just a form of charity, alms-giving, tax or tithe, neither it’s an expression of kindness. Also it’s not merely a deduction of a certain percentage from one's property, but it’s the combination of all and an abundant enrichment and spiritual investment. Moreover, It is not simply a voluntary contribution to someone or some cause, nor a government tax that a shrewd clever person can get away with it. Rather, it is a duty enjoined by God and undertaken by Muslims in the interest of society as a whole.

Pilgrimage to Mecca or Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam and an obligation on every Muslim to complete once in a life time if he/she can meet the requirements:

  • Maturity and sound mind, in order to understand the significance of the pilgrimage experience
  • Physical capability to travel and perform the pilgrimage rites
  • Financial stability, free of debt, so that one is able to bear the pilgrimage expenses as well as provide for dependents during travel

These are the 5 pillars of Islam that makes a true, loving and a fast growing religion of our time.

Islamic beliefs --- Jihad --- Fasting

To Top

Custom Search

Return from Five Pillars of Islam to Afghanistan Religion page


Share this page:
Enjoyed this page? Please send it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.