Afghanistan Facts

Afghanistan facts: Afghanistan is a dry and mountainous country located in Southern Asia, north and west to Pakistan, east to Iran. Afghanistan declared it’s independence in 1919 after the "Third-Anglo-Afghan War" with British.

In 1989 the USSR withdrew by internationally supported Anti-Communist Mujahideen and the civil war started. However, after a few years of subsequent civil wars, Kabul finally fell into the Taliban in 1996, a hard line Pakistani-sponsored movement that emerged to end the country's civil war and anarchy. After the 9/11 attacks in New York and Washington, the U.S and the anti-Taliban Northern Alliance military action toppled the Taliban for sheltering Osama Bin Laden and Afghanistan was invaded.


The UN-sponsored Bonn Conference in 2001 established a process for political reconstruction that included the adoption of a new constitution, a presidential election in 2004, and National Assembly elections in 2005. In December 2004, Hamid KARZAI became the first democratically elected president of Afghanistan and the National Assembly was inaugurated the following December.

As Afghanistan fact, the region is a landlocked country with the estimated population of 29,929,000 people. There are several different languages in Afghanistan, however, Dari with 50% and Pushtu 35% speakers, are the main or national language of the country. Afghanistan has 34 provinces with different traditional cultures and ethnic groups such as Tajik, Pashtun, Hazara, Uzbec, Turkmen, Pashaye, Nooristani and others.

Afghanistan is rich in culture and mines and famous by its delicious food and Sports such as Buzkashi, Kite Flying and many others.

The formal name of Afghanistan is (Islamic Republic of Afghanistan)

Capital City is Kabul with approximately 3 million population

Currency is Afghani (AFS)

Currency Converter: 50 Afs = 1 US Dollar

Flag Color is ( Black, Red, Green )

National Day is ( August 19 )

Religion is Muslim (Sunni faith (80%), Shi'a faith (19%) other Hindus (1%)

Afghanistan is satuated in a recognized geographical region of South Central Asia. It's bordered by several countries such as: Pakistan, Iran, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and China.

Afghanistan has 34 provinces which are as follows:

Badakhshan, Badghis, Baghlan, Balkh, Bamyan, Daykundi, Farah, Faryab, Ghazni, Ghowr, Helmand, Herat, Jowzjan, Kabul, Kandahar, Kapissa, Khuwst, Konnar, Konduz, Laghman, Lowgar, Nangarhar, Nimruz, Nooristan, Oruzgan, Paktiya, Paktika, Panjshir, Parwan, Samangan, Sar-e Pul, Takhar, Wardak, and Zabul.

Custom Search

Return from Afghanistan Facts to Afghanistan Culture Home Page

Share this page:
Enjoyed this page? Please send it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.